Stevie Nicks Enchanted 1998

The Enchanted Works of Stevie Nicks (1998)

Enchanted: The Enchanted Works of Stevie Nicks (1998) is Stevie Nicks’ second solo career retrospective release. The three-disc box set contains three-and-a-half hours of digitally-remastered music — 46 songs, spanning 17 years of Stevie’s solo career (1981-1998). It also contains a 64-page color booklet with previously unseen photos, complete lyrics, and Nicks’ personal reminiscences.

“Stevie Nicks is more than a rock icon: She’s the high priestess of her own religion, ruling a world of prancing gypsies, gold-dust princesses and white-winged doves… On Enchanted, she still has that soulful ache in her voice, and you can hear how faithfully Nicks has followed her vision.” —Rolling Stone

Discs one and two contain songs from Stevie’s first six releases; Bella Donna (1981), The Wild Heart (1983), Rock a Little (1985), The Other Side of the Mirror (1989), and Timespace: The Best of Stevie Nicks (1991), and Street Angel (1994); and a selection of b-sides. Disc three is a mix of demos, duets, remixes, soundtrack material, and previously unreleased songs. Modern Records had planned to include a fourth disc of live material (from the 1981 Wilshire Ebell Theatre performance), but discarded the idea. However, two tracks from this show, “Gold and Braid” and “Edge of Seventeen,” were included on disc three.

Buckingham Nicks, other rare songs

Early retail product information listed “Crying in the Night” and a studio version of “Gold and Braid” as tracks on disc three of Enchanted. Whether Modern replaced these tracks just prior to the box set’s release or issued an incorrect track listing is unknown.

For disc three, Stevie recorded a cover of Dorsey Burnette’s “It Late,” a song that dates back to her early childhood. Stevie used to sing the song with her grandfather, country singer A.J. Nicks. (Dorsey Burnette is the father of former Fleetwood Mac member Billy Burnette.)


Reconsider Me promo CD single cover
Reconsider Me promo CD single cover

Modern Records released Enchanted on April 29, 1998. It debuted at No. 85 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart, selling 56,000 units in its first week, which exceeded sales expectations for the box set. Modern promoted the box set by releasing the single “Reconsider Me” (featuring Don Henley), an unreleased song from the Rock a Little recording sessions. Nicks then promoted the release with a national tour.

In 1997, the RIAA certified Enchanted gold for the shipment of 500,000 units to retailers. The Enchanted box set is currently out of print.

Stevie Nicks
(Photo: Cliff Watts)

Press release

“When you’re in Fleetwood Mac, you don’t have much of a life…you don’t have much of a personal life, anyway. You’re a member of a band, part of the team. My solo work is a whole other thing. Everything that happens is my decision, which makes it a lot more special. Now it’s all together in one place. There’s stuff on this collection that, otherwise, there really wouldn’t be a place for. If it wasn’t for this set, some of these songs might never be heard.”

Enchanted is a three-CD boxed set that stands unrivaled in its encapsulation of Stevie Nicks’ remarkable solo career. In addition to collecting material from her six Modern/Atlantic solo albums — 1981’s RIAA quadruple-platinum Bella Donna, 1983’s double-platinum The Wild Heart, 1985’s platinum-selling Rock a Little, 1989’s platinum-certified The Other Side of the Mirror, 1991’s RIAA platinum Timespace: The Best of Stevie Nicks, and 1994’s gold-certified Street Angel — the 46-track set is highlighted by a number of previously unreleased tracks, studio demos, and live cuts, along with songs Nicks has contributed to motion picture soundtracks. All told, Enchanted is a thoughtfully constructed celebration of Nicks’ solo success, artistic achievement, and collaborations with some of her most gifted peers.


Disc 1

  1. Enchanted (3:07)
  2. Outside the Rain (4:19)
  3. After the Glitter Fades (3:32)
  4. Wild Heart (6:10)
  5. Leather and Lace (3:57)
  6. Garbo (3:30)
  7. Stand Back (4:48)
  8. Nightbird (5:01)
  9. Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around (4:01)
  10. Beauty and the Beast (6:02)
  11. Kind of Woman (3:11)
  12. If Anyone Falls (4:07)
  13. One More Big Time Rock and Roll Star (4:25)
  14. Blue Denim (4:13)
  15. Bella Donna (5:22)

Disc 2

  1. Edge of Seventeen (live) (8:07)
  2. Street Angel (4:07)
  3. Rock a Little (Go Ahead Lily) (3:39)
  4. I Sing for the Things (3:40)
  5. Rooms on Fire (4:18)
  6. I Can’t Wait (extended Rock mix) (5:58)
  7. Two Kinds of Love (4:48)
  8. The Highwayman (4:51)
  9. Rose Garden (4:25)
  10. Talk to Me (4:12)
  11. Destiny (4:36)
  12. Ooh My Love (5:04)
  13. Desert Angel (5:22)
  14. Whole Lotta Trouble (4:32)
  15. Has Anyone Ever Written Anything for You (4:32)


  1. Twisted (demo) (3:20)
  2. Long Distance Winner (4:49)
  3. Thousand Days (5:18)
  4. Battle of the Dragon (5:18)
  5. Gold (4:22)
  6. Free Fallin’ (5:35)
  7. It’s Late (demo) (2:11)
  8. Violet and Blue (5:05)
  9. Whenever I Call You Friend (3:53)
  10. Sweet Girl (demo) (4:32)
  11. Blue Lamp (3:46)
  12. Gold and Braid (live) (remix) (5:16)
  13. Reconsider Me (3:47)
  14. Somebody Stand by Me (5:05)
  15. Sleeping Angel (remix) (4:45)
  16. Rhiannon (piano version) (6:41)


Jackson, R. (1998, May 6). Enchanted exceeds the initial first week sale expectations. Business Wire.
Modern Records (1998). Stevie Nicks. Press release.
Nicks, S. (1998, April 29). The enchanted works of Stevie Nicks.
Sheffield, R. (1998, May 14). Enchanted: The works of Stevie Nicks. Rolling Stone.

Translate This Site

News Archive

RSS Fleetwood Mac

  • REVIEW: Fleetwood Mac at Rod Laver Arena Tuesday, September 3, 2019
    Given the well-documented dramas they’ve endured over the decades, you assumed by now Fleetwood Mac were pretty much invincible. However reuniting that classic Rumours-era line-up back for the 2014/2015 tour proved they had one more soap opera-style twist up their billowing sleeves. So in 2019, it’s either this Lindsey Buckingham-free version of Fleetwood Mac or […]
  • Fleetwood Frankenband a beautiful monster Tuesday, September 3, 2019
    FLEETWOOD MAC ★★★★ Rod Laver Arena, until September 9 Eighteen months ago, it seemed positively absurd that someone like Neil Finn – a well known musician and songwriter in his own right who had by no means put his feet up – could, or even would, join a band like Fleetwood Mac. Perhaps it still […]
  • Another Rumours deluxe set coming this fall Friday, August 23, 2019
    Rhino/Warner Bros. Records will be reissuing another deluxe edition of Fleetwood Mac’s 1977 album Rumours to coincide with the band’s remaining 2019 North American tour dates. The latest 4CD package, out October 25, compiles tracks from the previously released 2004 and 2013 reissues of the album. The package is a slimmed-down version of the 6-disc […]
  • Fleetwood Mac: Still going their own way Thursday, August 22, 2019
    Since it began as a British rock band in 1967, Fleetwood Mac has undergone 19 iterations while steadily adding Americans and, most recently, a New Zealander to its line-up. Its only remaining founding member is drummer Mick Fleetwood, who recently described each version of the group as “incredibly different musical episodes in this Shakespearean play […]
  • Seeing Fleetwood Mac in 2019 is a strange experience — but they’ve always been a strange band Wednesday, August 21, 2019
    If their songs weren’t so strong, endurance may be Fleetwood Mac’s greatest legacy Thirty minutes into Fleetwood Mac’s set at the Brisbane Entertainment Centre this week, Stevie Nicks admitted that she didn’t realise “Black Magic Woman” was a Fleetwood Mac song until well after she’d joined the band. It’s an astounding admission. Sure, the song […]
%d bloggers like this: