The Dance (1997)


The Dance is a live performance album. Recorded over three nights (May 22-24, 1997) on a soundstage in Burbank, California, The Dance commemorates the 20th anniversary of the release of Rumours, with performances of many of those songs, including the b-side “Silver Springs.” It features the quintessential 1975 Fleetwood Mac lineup of Lindsey Buckingham, Mick Fleetwood, Christine McVie, John McVie, and Stevie Nicks.

Warner Bros. released The Dance on CD and cassette on Tuesday, August 19, 1997. With the help of an MTV broadcast and promotional singles (“The Chain,” “Landslide,” and “Silver Springs”), the album reached No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 200 Albums chart. As a commercial single, “Landslide” reached number 51 on the Billboard Hot 100 Singles chart, 22 years after its initial release. Warner Bros. released the DVD of The Dance featuring all 22 songs on November 11, 1997. Fleetwood Mac supported The Dance with a North American arena tour.

In March 2000, the RIAA certified The Dance 5X platinum for the shipment of five million units to retailers.


  1. The Chain
  2. Dreams
  3. Everywhere
  4. Gold Dust Woman
  5. I’m So Afraid
  6. Temporary One (new song)
  7. Bleed to Love Her (new song)
  8. Gypsy
  9. Big Love
  10. Go Insane
  11. Landslide
  12. Say You Love Me
  13. You Make Loving Fun
  14. My Little Demon
  15. Silver Springs
  16. Over My Head
  17. Rhiannon
  18. Sweet Girl (new song)
  19. Go Your Own Way
  20. Tusk
  21. Don’t Stop
  22. Songbird

Photo Gallery

Translate This Site

News Archive


Instagram has returned invalid data.

RSS Fleetwood Mac

  • REVIEW: Fleetwood Mac at Rod Laver Arena Tuesday, September 3, 2019
    Given the well-documented dramas they’ve endured over the decades, you assumed by now Fleetwood Mac were pretty much invincible. However reuniting that classic Rumours-era line-up back for the 2014/2015 tour proved they had one more soap opera-style twist up their billowing sleeves. So in 2019, it’s either this Lindsey Buckingham-free version of Fleetwood Mac or […]
  • Fleetwood Frankenband a beautiful monster Tuesday, September 3, 2019
    FLEETWOOD MAC ★★★★ Rod Laver Arena, until September 9 Eighteen months ago, it seemed positively absurd that someone like Neil Finn – a well known musician and songwriter in his own right who had by no means put his feet up – could, or even would, join a band like Fleetwood Mac. Perhaps it still […]
  • Another Rumours deluxe set coming this fall Friday, August 23, 2019
    Rhino/Warner Bros. Records will be reissuing another deluxe edition of Fleetwood Mac’s 1977 album Rumours to coincide with the band’s remaining 2019 North American tour dates. The latest 4CD package, out October 25, compiles tracks from the previously released 2004 and 2013 reissues of the album. The package is a slimmed-down version of the 6-disc […]
  • Fleetwood Mac: Still going their own way Thursday, August 22, 2019
    Since it began as a British rock band in 1967, Fleetwood Mac has undergone 19 iterations while steadily adding Americans and, most recently, a New Zealander to its line-up. Its only remaining founding member is drummer Mick Fleetwood, who recently described each version of the group as “incredibly different musical episodes in this Shakespearean play […]
  • Seeing Fleetwood Mac in 2019 is a strange experience — but they’ve always been a strange band Wednesday, August 21, 2019
    If their songs weren’t so strong, endurance may be Fleetwood Mac’s greatest legacy Thirty minutes into Fleetwood Mac’s set at the Brisbane Entertainment Centre this week, Stevie Nicks admitted that she didn’t realise “Black Magic Woman” was a Fleetwood Mac song until well after she’d joined the band. It’s an astounding admission. Sure, the song […]
%d bloggers like this: