Soundstage: Stevie Nicks Live in Chicago (2009)

“Nicks is in top form in these sessions, providing arresting versions of favorites and delivering her trademark vocals and whirling-dervish dance moves.” —NetFlix

Live in Chicago is Stevie Nicks’ first concert release since 1987’s Stevie Nicks Live at Red Rocks. It is currently available on CD, DVD, and Blu-ray formats through PBS (Stevie Live!) and Reprise Records (Live in Chicago, a full-length DVD and The Soundstage Sessions, a highlights CD).


On October 25, 2007, Nicks recorded PBS Soundstage before a live studio audience at WTTW’s Grainger studio in Chicago. She recorded the special concert while on tour for Crystal Visions…The Very Best of Stevie Nicks, her third solo retrospective release. Nicks performed her Fleetwood Mac and solo hits and covered Dave Matthew’s “Crash into Me” and Bonnie Raitt’s “Circle Dance.” She also performed “The One,” a duet with Vanessa Carlton.

On July 17, 2008, PBS premiered the concert as a two-part special; part one airing on the premiere night and part two airing a week later on July 24. The network broadcast 16 of the 18 songs that Nicks performed for the concert, but omitted “Dreams” and Beauty and the Beast.” PBS also shuffled the order of the songs for the two-part special.

One of the highlights of the concert was “Sara.” According to Nicks, director Joe Thomas wrote her a cheeky, one-page letter explaining the importance of recording “Sara” for the broadcast. Nicks agreed to perform the song, humorously referring to Thomas’ efforts as a “guilt letter.”

In 2008, Nicks and Thomas worked on a CD to further promote The Soundstage Sessions. They tweaked the existing recording at Ocean Way Recording in a Nashville, adding string arrangements and additional vocals.


On Tuesday, March 31, 2009, Reprise Records released Stevie Nicks Live in Chicago on DVD, with an accompanying 10-track CD, The Soundstage Sessions. On the same day, Nicks made a rare public appearance to sign autographs at Barnes and Noble Booksellers in New York’s Union Square.

Different versions

There are two versions of the DVD and Blu-ray. The PBS edition, Stevie Live!, includes 16 songs from the original two-part special, but omits “Dreams” and the orchestra version of “Landslide.” The Reprise Records edition, Stevie Nicks: Live in Chicago, includes 17 of the 18 songs that Stevie performed at the concert. Strangely, neither edition contains the footage for “Beauty and the Beast,” though its audio track appears exclusively on Reprise’s accompanying 10-track CD, The Soundstage Sessions. Though PBS aired scenes during the end credits of what appears to be Nicks bowing after singing “Beauty and the Beast,” the actual performance footage remains officially unreleased.

Stevie Nicks Soundstage (2009)DVD / Blu-ray (PBS)

  1. Stand Back
  2. Enchanted
  3. If Anyone Falls in Love
  4. Rhiannon
  5. Crash Into Me
  6. Sorcerer
  7. The One (Feat. Vanessa Carlton)
  8. Gold Dust Woman
  9. I Need to Know
  10. Circle Dance
  11. Landslide
  12. Sara
  13. Fall From Grace
  14. How Still My Love
  15. Edge of Seventeen
  16. Rock & Roll

Dreams & Landslide (Orchestra Version) omitted

Stevie Nicks - The Soundstage Sessions: Live in Chicago

DVD / Blu-ray (Reprise Records)

  1. Stand Back
  2. Enchanted
  3. If Anyone Falls in Love
  4. Rhiannon
  5. Crash Into Me
  6. Dreams
  7. Sorcerer
  8. The One (Feat. Vanessa Carlton)
  9. Gold Dust Woman
  10. I Need to Know
  11. Circle Dance
  12. Landside
  13. Sara
  14. Fall From Grace
  15. How Still My Love
  16. Edge of Seventeen
  17. Rock & Roll

Bonus track: Landslide (Orchestra Version)

The Soundstage Sessions (2009)

Bonus CD (Reprise Records)

  1. Stand Back
  2. Crash
  3. Sara
  4. If Anyone Falls in Love
  5. Landslide (Orchestra Version)
  6. How Still My Love
  7. Circle Dance
  8. Fall From Grace
  9. Sorcerer
  10. Beauty and the Beast

Produced and directed by Joe Thomas

Official Videos

Stevie Nicks – Stand Back (Live In Chicago)


Stevie Nicks – Edge Of Seventeen (Live In Chicago)


Stevie Nicks – Dreams (Live In Chicago)


Stevie Nicks – Gold Dust Woman (Live In Chicago)


Stevie Nicks – Landslide (Live In Chicago)


Translate This Site

News Archive

RSS Fleetwood Mac

  • REVIEW: Fleetwood Mac at Rod Laver Arena Tuesday, September 3, 2019
    Given the well-documented dramas they’ve endured over the decades, you assumed by now Fleetwood Mac were pretty much invincible. However reuniting that classic Rumours-era line-up back for the 2014/2015 tour proved they had one more soap opera-style twist up their billowing sleeves. So in 2019, it’s either this Lindsey Buckingham-free version of Fleetwood Mac or […]
  • Fleetwood Frankenband a beautiful monster Tuesday, September 3, 2019
    FLEETWOOD MAC ★★★★ Rod Laver Arena, until September 9 Eighteen months ago, it seemed positively absurd that someone like Neil Finn – a well known musician and songwriter in his own right who had by no means put his feet up – could, or even would, join a band like Fleetwood Mac. Perhaps it still […]
  • Another Rumours deluxe set coming this fall Friday, August 23, 2019
    Rhino/Warner Bros. Records will be reissuing another deluxe edition of Fleetwood Mac’s 1977 album Rumours to coincide with the band’s remaining 2019 North American tour dates. The latest 4CD package, out October 25, compiles tracks from the previously released 2004 and 2013 reissues of the album. The package is a slimmed-down version of the 6-disc […]
  • Fleetwood Mac: Still going their own way Thursday, August 22, 2019
    Since it began as a British rock band in 1967, Fleetwood Mac has undergone 19 iterations while steadily adding Americans and, most recently, a New Zealander to its line-up. Its only remaining founding member is drummer Mick Fleetwood, who recently described each version of the group as “incredibly different musical episodes in this Shakespearean play […]
  • Seeing Fleetwood Mac in 2019 is a strange experience — but they’ve always been a strange band Wednesday, August 21, 2019
    If their songs weren’t so strong, endurance may be Fleetwood Mac’s greatest legacy Thirty minutes into Fleetwood Mac’s set at the Brisbane Entertainment Centre this week, Stevie Nicks admitted that she didn’t realise “Black Magic Woman” was a Fleetwood Mac song until well after she’d joined the band. It’s an astounding admission. Sure, the song […]
%d bloggers like this: