In Your Dreams (2011)

In Your Dreams is Stevie Nicks’ seventh solo album, her first since Trouble in Shangri-La in 2001. Produced by former Eurythmics guitarist Dave Stewart, the album is Stevie’s most acclaimed work in many years. On the album, Stevie finds diverse inspirations in pop culture, writers Edgar Allan Poe and Anne Rice, the city and people of New Orleans, and recovering soldiers at military hospitals in Washington, D.C.

The gypsy queen is in royal form on In Your Dreams, her finest collection of songs since the Eighties. —Rolling Stone

Stevie said that recording In Your Dreams was her most enjoyable time in the studio (her house in Los Angeles) since the recording of Bella Donna (1981).

Moonlight (A Movie’s Inspiration)

While in Brisbane, Australia on Fleetwood Mac’s 2009 Unleashed World Tour, Stevie saw the film New Moon, the second installment of the Twilight film trilogy. She found Bella’s relationship with vampire Edward to be intriguing, finding parallels to her own relationship with Lindsey Buckingham. To create the new song “Moonlight (A Vampire’s Dream),” Stevie wrote the chorus and the second verse about Bella and Edwards’ usual relationship and used the first and third verses from “The Lady from the Mountains,” a demo dating back to 1976.”

“This really is an ancient song that encompasses my strange and everlasting relationship with Lindsey Buckingham, and Bella and Edward, all mixed into one,” Stevie told AOL’s Spinner in 2010.

The new song inspired Stevie to begin recording In Your Dreams, despite her feelings about Internet piracy adversely affecting the music industry. In 2010, Stevie asked Dave Stewart to produce the album, which took appropriately a year to complete. In subsequent interviews, Stevie often stated that her time recording with Dave was the best year of her life.


On Tuesday, May 3, 2011, Reprise Records released three versions of In Your Dreams:

  1. The standard edition, available digitally and on CD, featured 13 tracks.
  2. In the U.S., Barnes and Noble Booksellers sold a limited edition of the album with 14 songs, including the bonus track “My Heart,” a song that Nicks first recorded for Trouble in Shangri-La, but did not use. (Warner Bros. issued the same 14 tracks for the international edition of In Your Dreams.)
  3. Apple iTunes issued a deluxe digital edition, featuring downloads of the standard 13 tracks and a digital booklet with lyrics and exclusive pictures.

Reprise promoted the album in advance by issuing the lead single “Secret Love” on February 8, three months ahead of the album’s release. The singles “Moonlight (A Vampire’s Dream)” and “For What It’s Worth,” with accompanying music videos, followed in the months ahead. The album debuted at number six on the Billboard Hot 200 Album Chart, her fifth Top 10 album, selling 52,000 copies in the first week.

For two years, Stevie supported the album by performing concerts in the U.S., Canada, and Australia. She also performed with Rod Stewart towards the end of the tour.


  1. Secret Love
  2. For What’s It’s Worth
  3. In Your Dreams
  4. Wild Sargasso Sea
  5. New Orleans
  6. Moonlight (A Vampire’s Dream)
  7. Annabel Lee
  8. My Heart*
  9. A Soldier’s Angel
  10. Everybody Loves You
  11. Ghosts Are Gone
  12. You May Be the One
  13. Italian Summer
  14. Cheaper Than Free (Featuring Dave Stewart)

*Barnes & Noble edition / International edition


Dave Stewart captured the album’s recording sessions in the documentary Stevie Nicks: In Your Dreams. The film screened at the Hamptons International Film Festival on October 7, 2012, the Mill Valley Film Festival on October 12, 2012, and the Cosmopolitan Hotel in Las Vegas on November 7, 2012.

The DVD edition of In Your Dreams was released on Tuesday, December 3, 2013. Stevie promoted the release by attending a special DVD signing event at The Grove’s Barnes & Noble in Los Angeles on Wednesday, December 4. Stevie autographed copies of the In Your Dreams DVD and CD for more than 500 fans.

Official videos

Translate This Site

News Archive

RSS Fleetwood Mac

  • REVIEW: Fleetwood Mac at Rod Laver Arena Tuesday, September 3, 2019
    Given the well-documented dramas they’ve endured over the decades, you assumed by now Fleetwood Mac were pretty much invincible. However reuniting that classic Rumours-era line-up back for the 2014/2015 tour proved they had one more soap opera-style twist up their billowing sleeves. So in 2019, it’s either this Lindsey Buckingham-free version of Fleetwood Mac or […]
  • Fleetwood Frankenband a beautiful monster Tuesday, September 3, 2019
    FLEETWOOD MAC ★★★★ Rod Laver Arena, until September 9 Eighteen months ago, it seemed positively absurd that someone like Neil Finn – a well known musician and songwriter in his own right who had by no means put his feet up – could, or even would, join a band like Fleetwood Mac. Perhaps it still […]
  • Another Rumours deluxe set coming this fall Friday, August 23, 2019
    Rhino/Warner Bros. Records will be reissuing another deluxe edition of Fleetwood Mac’s 1977 album Rumours to coincide with the band’s remaining 2019 North American tour dates. The latest 4CD package, out October 25, compiles tracks from the previously released 2004 and 2013 reissues of the album. The package is a slimmed-down version of the 6-disc […]
  • Fleetwood Mac: Still going their own way Thursday, August 22, 2019
    Since it began as a British rock band in 1967, Fleetwood Mac has undergone 19 iterations while steadily adding Americans and, most recently, a New Zealander to its line-up. Its only remaining founding member is drummer Mick Fleetwood, who recently described each version of the group as “incredibly different musical episodes in this Shakespearean play […]
  • Seeing Fleetwood Mac in 2019 is a strange experience — but they’ve always been a strange band Wednesday, August 21, 2019
    If their songs weren’t so strong, endurance may be Fleetwood Mac’s greatest legacy Thirty minutes into Fleetwood Mac’s set at the Brisbane Entertainment Centre this week, Stevie Nicks admitted that she didn’t realise “Black Magic Woman” was a Fleetwood Mac song until well after she’d joined the band. It’s an astounding admission. Sure, the song […]
%d bloggers like this: