Buckingham Nicks (1973)

Buckingham Nicks is an engaging listen and served as a proving ground for both artists’ songwriting chops. —AllMusic

Buckingham Nicks is Stevie Nicks and Lindsey Buckingham’s first album as recording artists. Released in September 1973, the album features 10 songs, including Nicks’ “Crying in the Night,” Races Are Run,” “Long Distance Winner,” and “Crystal,” the latter of which Fleetwood Mac rerecorded for its self-titled 1975 album. The album also contains “Frozen Love,” the song that Mick Fleetwood heard while visiting producer Keith Olsen at legendary Sound City studio, where Buckingham Nicks was recorded.

Despite the duo’s hard work on the album, Polydor Records was dissatisfied with the results and felt that the album “lacked imagination,” according to producer Keith Olsen. Under contract, Polydor Records reluctantly issued Buckingham Nicks and released the singles “Don’t Let Me Down Again” and “Crying in the Night (remix).” But neither song was able to garner any significant radio play, and more importantly, boost album sales. Buckingham and Nicks promoted the album with a national tour, but Polydor dropped them from the label because of low album sales.

Buckingham and Nicks currently own the recording rights to the album, but they have chosen not to reissue it on CD at this time. In 1998, Nicks included “Long Distance Winner” on her retrospective The Enchanted Works of Stevie Nicks, the first and only time a Buckingham Nicks track has been digitally remastered for a commercial CD release. Other Buckingham Nicks songs “Crying in the Night,” “Stephanie” and “Frozen Love” have appeared on promotional, radio-only CD releases.


  1. Crying in the Night (Nicks)
  2. Stephanie (Buckingham)
  3. Without a Leg to Stand On (Buckingham)
  4. Crystal (Nicks)
  5. Long Distance Winner (Nicks)
  6. Don’t Let Me Down Again (Buckingham)
  7. Django (John Lewis)
  8. Races Are Run (Nicks)
  9. Lola (My Love) (Buckingham)
  10. Frozen Love (Nicks, Buckingham)

Buckingham Nicks Playlist


Translate This Site

News Archive

RSS Fleetwood Mac

  • REVIEW: Fleetwood Mac at Rod Laver Arena Tuesday, September 3, 2019
    Given the well-documented dramas they’ve endured over the decades, you assumed by now Fleetwood Mac were pretty much invincible. However reuniting that classic Rumours-era line-up back for the 2014/2015 tour proved they had one more soap opera-style twist up their billowing sleeves. So in 2019, it’s either this Lindsey Buckingham-free version of Fleetwood Mac or […]
  • Fleetwood Frankenband a beautiful monster Tuesday, September 3, 2019
    FLEETWOOD MAC ★★★★ Rod Laver Arena, until September 9 Eighteen months ago, it seemed positively absurd that someone like Neil Finn – a well known musician and songwriter in his own right who had by no means put his feet up – could, or even would, join a band like Fleetwood Mac. Perhaps it still […]
  • Another Rumours deluxe set coming this fall Friday, August 23, 2019
    Rhino/Warner Bros. Records will be reissuing another deluxe edition of Fleetwood Mac’s 1977 album Rumours to coincide with the band’s remaining 2019 North American tour dates. The latest 4CD package, out October 25, compiles tracks from the previously released 2004 and 2013 reissues of the album. The package is a slimmed-down version of the 6-disc […]
  • Fleetwood Mac: Still going their own way Thursday, August 22, 2019
    Since it began as a British rock band in 1967, Fleetwood Mac has undergone 19 iterations while steadily adding Americans and, most recently, a New Zealander to its line-up. Its only remaining founding member is drummer Mick Fleetwood, who recently described each version of the group as “incredibly different musical episodes in this Shakespearean play […]
  • Seeing Fleetwood Mac in 2019 is a strange experience — but they’ve always been a strange band Wednesday, August 21, 2019
    If their songs weren’t so strong, endurance may be Fleetwood Mac’s greatest legacy Thirty minutes into Fleetwood Mac’s set at the Brisbane Entertainment Centre this week, Stevie Nicks admitted that she didn’t realise “Black Magic Woman” was a Fleetwood Mac song until well after she’d joined the band. It’s an astounding admission. Sure, the song […]
%d bloggers like this: