Timespace: The Best of Stevie Nicks (1991)

“This is music to miss your lover to, love songs that manage to stagger above the over-sentimentality of recent album oriented rock, due to Nicks’s distinctive delivery and beautifully arranged songs.”–Q

Timespace: The Best of Stevie Nicks is Nicks’ first retrospective release. It contains 11 singles from Nicks’ illustrious solo career, most of which were remixed for this compilation, and three new songs. Nicks wrote detailed liner notes, explaining the inspiration for each song.

New songs

Jon Bon Jovi contributed one of the three new songs, “Sometimes It’s a Bitch.” Nicks initially had reservations about singing the song because of the word “bitch.” Bon Jovi deferred to the meaning of the song about life’s trials and tribulations and eventually convinced Nicks to record the song. Modern Records had similar reservations about the song’s title, choosing to abbreviate the song’s title to “Sometimes” in its radio marketing campaign.

Nicks had a far better experience recording “Love’s a Hard Game to Play,” a new song that Poison’s lead singer Bret Michaels had written for her.

“[Bret Michaels] sat down with an acoustic guitar and played me his song. Sometimes you meet a person and you feel like you’ve known them for years,” she told the Denver Post in 1991. “After the hassle of getting ‘Sometimes It’s a Bitch’ done, he gave me back my laughter and self-esteem.”

The third new song was “Desert Angel,” a tribute to the military service personnel involved in Operation Desert Storm. The song appeared as a bonus track on the CD edition of Timespace.

‘Silver Springs’ dispute

Nicks wanted to include the Rumours-era b-side song “Silver Springs” on Timespace, but Mick Fleetwood, on behalf of Warner Bros. Records, had plans to include the rare song on Fleetwood Mac’s retrospective 25 Years: The Chain (1992). Despite Nicks’ pleas to include “Silver Springs” on Timespace, Fleetwood refused to release the recording to her. Hurt by Fleetwood’s decision, Nicks distanced herself from Fleetwood Mac and left the group altogether in 1992 (with fellow bandmate Christine McVie). Nicks and Fleetwood finally resolved the issue in 1997 when Fleetwood Mac recorded a new version of “Silver Springs” for The Dance. In 2007, Warner Bros. granted rights to release the original version of “Silver Springs” on Nicks’ third retrospective release Crystal Visions: The Very Best of Stevie Nicks.

Other remixes

Producer Chris Lord-Alge remixed many songs for Timespace, but some of them did not appear on the collection. These included soundtrack songs, such as “Battle of the Dragon” (from American Anthem), and “Sleeping Angel” (from Fast Times at Ridgemont High), and “Violet and Blue” (from Against All Odds).


Modern Records released CD, cassette, and vinyl (exclusively through Columbia House) versions of Timespace on Tuesday, September 3, 1991. The compilation reached No. 30 on the Billboard Hot 200 Albums chart. In 1997, the RIAA certified the compilation platinum for the shipment of one million units to retailers.

“Sometimes (It’s a Bitch)” was the the lead single from Timespace. Its peak position on various charts is show in the table below:

Chart Name Peak position
US Billboard Hot 100 56
US Billboard Mainstream Rock 7
UK Singles Chart 40
Australia (ARIA Singles Chart) 18
German Singles Chart 55
New Zealand Singles Chart 39

“I Can’t Wait” was also reissued for the European market, reaching No. 47 in the U.K.

Nicks supported the release of Timespace with a national tour dubbed “The Whole Lotta Trouble Tour.”


  1. Sometimes It’s a Bitch
  2. Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around (remix)
  3. Whole Lotta Trouble (1989 remix)
  4. Talk to Me
  5. Stand Back (remix)
  6. Beauty and the Beast
  7. If Anyone Falls (remix)
  8. Rooms on Fire (remix)
  9. Love’s a Hard Game to Play
  10. Edge of Seventeen (remix)
  11. Leather and Lace (remix)
  12. I Can’t Wait
  13. Has Anyone Ever Written Anything for You (remix)
  14. Desert Angel*

*CD edition only

Photo Gallery

Upcoming Events

  1. Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers with Special Guests Stevie Nicks & The Lumineers – London, England

    July 9 @ 2:00 pm - 11:00 pm
  2. Ravinia Festival

    September 9 @ 7:30 pm - 11:00 pm
  3. Ravinia Festival, Night 2

    September 10 @ 7:30 pm - 11:00 pm
  4. Bourbon & Beyond Festival

    September 23 - September 24

Most Viewed Posts