Street Angel (1994)

Street Angel is Stevie Nicks’ fifth solo album, her first since The Other Side of the Mirror in 1989. It contains 13 tracks, including the singles “Maybe Love Will Change Your Mind” and “Blue Denim.” Stevie dedicated the album her niece Jessica James Nicks, “the next generation.”


Stevie began recording Street Angel with English producer Glyn Johns in the summer of 1992. The sessions were marred by Stevie’s addiction to the tranquilizer Klonopin and the antidepressant Prozac, which according to Stevie, had affected the quality of her singing and songwriting. On December 12, 1993, Stevie sought treatment for the addiction, staying in a Southern California rehabilitation program for 47 days.

Stevie Nicks is an ethereal rocker whose blend of veil-waving Madame Zara spookiness sits alarmingly well over pounding American AOR rock.” —Q

Following treatment, Stevie listened to the completed Street Angel recording again and realized how disappointed she was with the production. Although Johns had completed the album, Stevie hired producer Thom Panunzio to redo the tracks. (Johns’ production work on the album was uncredited.) She invited guitarists Waddy Wachtel and Michael Campbell and percussionist Peter Michael to add parts that she felt were missing from the original tracks. Overwhelmed by the production overhaul, Stevie chose not to re-record most of her vocals, though she later admitted that they were another glaring problem with the album.

“I should have gone back in and really worked with the album, with the vocals,” she told Off the Record host Mary Turner in 1994. “I guess that was the last thing that I knew was wrong with it. And after being in two months trying to fix everything that I thought was wrong about the music and the mixes, it was almost like, you just need to let this go.”

Stevie ended up removing two songs that Glyn Johns’ son Ethan song had written for the 1993 album, “Inspiration” and “God’s Garden.” “Inspiration” was later released as the b-side of the US single “Maybe Love Will Change Your Mind” and included with “God’s Garden” on the Japanese pressing of Street Angel.


Modern Records planned to release the revamped Street Angel on Tuesday, May 3, 1994, but delayed it another month to Tuesday, June 7, 1994. The album debuted at No. 45 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart and spawned the single “Maybe Love Will Change Your Mind,” which reached No. 57 on the Billboard Hot 100 Singles chart. For the proposed 1993 Street Angel release, Modern Records had slated “Unconditional Love” to be the lead single, and “Listen to the Rain” and “Blue Denim” as subsequent singles.

Stevie launched a successful North American tour to support the release. For the first time in her solo touring career, Stevie traveled to concert venues in a tour bus.

In 1997, the RIAA certified Street Angel gold for the shipment of 500,000 units to retailers.

The often-ethereal Stevie Nicks touches ground for the first time in ages, with pleasurable tunes and plain-speak lyrics focused in chugging anthem tone. —Philadelphia Daily News

Despite Stevie’s concerted efforts to improve Street Angel, the album remains her least favorite recording even though it received generally favorable reviews from music critics.

Official poster promoting the release of Street Angel
Official poster promoting the release of Street Angel

Street Angel June 1994 — Produced by Thom Panuzio & Stevie Nicks

1. Blue Denim 9. Rose Garden
2. Greta 10. Maybe Love Will Change Your Mind
3. Docklands 11. Just Like a Woman
4. Street Angel 12. Kick It
5. Listen to the Rain 13. Jane
6. Destiny 14. God’s Garden*
7. Unconditional Love 15. Inspiration*
8. Love Is Like a River *Bonus tracks for Japan edition

Street Angel February 1993 — Produced by Glyn Johns

1. Docklands 9. God’s Garden
2. Rose Garden 10. Maybe Love Will Change Your Mind
3. If You Were My Love 11. Just Like a Woman
4. Jane 12. Unconditional Love
5. Listen to the Rain 13. Street Angel
6. Destiny 14. Greta
7. Blue Denim 15. Love Is Like a River
8. Inspiration

 Street Angel 1993 — Proposed Release (Resequenced)

1. Blue Denim 7. I Call You Missing*
2. Rose Garden 8. Inspiration
3. Street Angel 9. Maybe Love Will Change Your Mind
4. Just Like a Woman 10. Kick It
5. Unconditional Love 11. Listen to the Rain
6. Destiny 12. Playing in God’s Garden

*It’s unknown whether Nicks actually recorded “I Call You Missing” for Street Angel, as indicated on the 1993 Modern Record press release. The intended track may have been “Love Is Like a River.” Both songs share some of the same lyrics.

Photo Gallery

1. Docklands (1993)

2. Rose Garden (1993)

3. If You Were My Love (1993)

4. Jane (1993)

5. Listen to the Rain (1993)

6. Destiny (1993)

7. Blue Denim (1993)

8. Inspiration (1993)

9. God’s Garden (1993)

10. Maybe Love Will Change Your Mind (1993)

11. Just Like a Woman (1993)

12. Unconditional Love (1993)

13. Street Angel (1993)

14. Greta (1993)

15. Love Is Like a River (1993)


Modern Records (1993). Stevie Nicks: Street Angel [press release].

Westwood One Radio Network (1994). Stevie Nicks Off the Record with Mary Turner.

Upcoming Events

  1. Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers with Special Guests Stevie Nicks & The Lumineers – London, England

    July 9 @ 2:00 pm - 11:00 pm
  2. Ravinia Festival

    September 9 @ 7:30 pm - 11:00 pm
  3. Ravinia Festival, Night 2

    September 10 @ 7:30 pm - 11:00 pm
  4. Bourbon & Beyond Festival

    September 23 - September 24

Most Viewed Posts